Austin in a Nutshell

Open uri20190522 5204 s8xni4

Why We Love This

  • Best Bike Tour of Austin
  • Get to know the history and culture of Austin
  • Hybrid bike, basket, helmet, and water included

Our Nutshell tour will take you around town. Bike along the city's tranquil lake, admire the majestic Capitol building and explore some of the many distinct sights that make Austin such a varied and vibrant city. We have a complimentary shuttle service that can pick up guests within 5 miles of downtown.

What You'll Do

The tour begins by going along Zilker Park and the Lady Bird Lake (Ann and Roy Butler Hike and Bike trail). We will ride the boardwalk, see Historic Rainey Street, visit our Texas State Capitol and explore downtown all while getting exercise all along the way while enjoying gorgeous views of our downtown skyline. It is a great way to see a really large swath of Austin.

Insider Tips

This is a great tour for someone who wants to see a lot of the city and get some exercise. It is not hard, but it is also not easy. You should be in reasonable shape.

Age & Fitness

This is a relatively flat ride but it covers a good bit of territory. You should be in relatively good shape.

Meeting Location

1707 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704

What Should I Bring

Comfortable shoes to ride a bike in and a camera for all the great photo opportunities!

When To Arrive

Please arrive 15 minutes prior to tour departure.

Parking

There is parking adjacent to the shop.

Cancellations & Refunds

Cancellations must be made 24 hours in advance. We may cancel due to rain or other inclement weather. In these cases, we will issue full refunds.

"Excellent"

May 20, 2019 - 

Very informative. Great way to see the city


"Great experience "

May 19, 2019 - 

Enjoyed our morning with Chip. Good info, safe route, Braisted Birthday Bike Bash.


"Great tour and Chip was supper helpful"

May 16, 2019 - 

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Bikes were good, distance was right, mostly on safe off-road trails. Chip, our tour guide, was excellent. Highly recommend!


"The Best Way to Discover the Real Austin"

May 2, 2019 - 

We just spent the day at the Food and Wine Festival and had scheduled an afternoon 2 hour bike tour. Being a little bit older I wasn't sure how I would fair but once we got started the adrenaline started flowing. The two hour trip (which turned out to be 2.5 hours) takes you on the best tour of Austin. The majority of the trip is on the trails and paths along the river. We visited springs that are a popular swimming spot. We rode down past the "Bat Bridge". Next over the river into downtown up to the State Capital. Our guide Brandon was excellent (he only works weekends). He gave us a tremendous amount of insight as to what Austin is all about. I fed off of his energy which enabled me to last the 10 miles. The equipment is great, the staff is great the tour is great, overall the best way to see Austin.


"Do it!!"

April 21, 2019 - 

This bike tour was amazing! It was the perfect way to learn about the city and cover a lot of ground in a couple of hours. Brandon was great!!


"Great Sunday Ride"

April 21, 2019 - 

Nice tour, covered a lot of sights. Brandon was excellent guide. Many thanks


"Impressed"

April 13, 2019 - 

Awesome place to see


"Fantastic!"

April 12, 2019 - 

A great way to see the city!


"Great Bike Tour/Great Guide"

April 6, 2019 - 

My daughter and I had an awesome time on the Austin Nutshell Tour. It was a fun leisurely 10 mile ride along a lot of water ways and through the parks plus some time in the city. There were plenty of stops for picture taking and learning about the history.Our guide, Santi, was fantastic as well. The rental place was very quick and helpful finding us a bike that fit and outfitting us with baskets, helmets if desired and free water bottles. I would definitely recommend this bike rental company over the other big one in town. I tried several times over the course of several days and at different times to call the other one to just ask a question. There was never an answer, no voicemail and after my email it took several days for them to get back to me. Barton Bikes answered immediately and was friendly and helpful from the beginning. Go with them.


"Fun way to see Austin"

March 29, 2019 - 

Guide was upbeat, funny and kept things moving along. The bikes were not that great. Husbands bike seat kept going down. My bike made a lot of racket and jumped between gears.


"Great tour"

March 27, 2019 - 

Excellent overview of scenic river trail and downtown sites.


"Awesome tour"

March 27, 2019 - 

I just loved the bike tour. Chip was great, he told many interesting things about the city. I would recommend it to everybody


"Awesome "

March 23, 2019 - 

Great overview of the city. Guide was fantastic. Staff at Barton Springs couldn’t be more accommodating.


"Fantastic tour, Santiago was a very engaging and knowledgeable guide to Austin!"

March 8, 2019 - 

Good tour for first timers who want an overview of the downtown area.


"Great experience!"

March 4, 2019 - 

Great start to my trip in Austin! Got to bike through very nice areas and trails, and the guide was very nice and informed. Would highly recommend if it is your first time in Austin and would like an active tour of the city!


"The perfect way to see Austin!"

February 24, 2019 - 

There’s no better way to see a city than a bike tour - thanks, Brandon!


"Fantastic tour of Austin Gabriel "

February 23, 2019 - 

Gabriel was a great tour guide. Learned alot of cool facts about the city and was able to see some landmarks. Gabriel was able to cater to us being better bikers so we got to see more! And shorty the dog s cute and friendly!


"Excellent! Worth the $$"

February 21, 2019 - 

We had a blast learning all about Austin from a local’s perspective. Brandon was awesome!


"Loved it!"

February 19, 2019 - 

We loved the Austin in a Nutshell Bike Tour! It is great for all ages. We had a group of 6, ranging from age 18-70! Be prepared to make a lot of stops. The 10 miles feels like much less distance since you start and stop so often.


"Great"

February 15, 2019 - 

Yeah, just great


"Great bicycle tour through Austin "

February 2, 2019 - 

Really enjoyed our time with Santi. Fun and enjoyable time.


"Great way to kick off our visit!"

January 27, 2019 - 

Our tour guide showed us the best of Zilker Park and all the cool stuff on both sides of the Colorado river. Well maintained bikes. Watched out for our safety. A great business.


"Austin in a nutshell"

January 24, 2019 - 

Great tour - hit a lot of interesting facts about the city you wouldn't have an appreciation for otherwise, a little exercise, but not too much. Recommended!


"Great overview of Austin"

January 21, 2019 - 

Fun to get out on bike in beautiful Austin. Learned a lot and covered a lot of ground. Thank you!!


"A great way to take in Austin"

January 21, 2019 - 

I thoroughly enjoyed the cycle tour. It showed me parts of Austin I might never have seen as a lone tourist. Most definitely worth the money.


"Face tired from smiling "

January 17, 2019 - 

What a fun morning with Branden! He kept us safe and entertained! Just right exertion level!


"Great tour"

January 1, 2019 - 

We loved our tour and our guide took some great photos for us! Much appreciated!


"Fun ride in AUSTIN."

December 30, 2018 - 

Rob was our guide and the tour live up to the awesome reviews. I would recommend this tour company to everyone who wants to see Austin up close and personal. Plus the bike ride was healthy and invigorating and was a perfect antidote for the long trip to get here.


"Gabrielle was outstanding"

December 26, 2018 - 

Gabrielle was an outstanding host mixing history, humor and local knowledge to provide my family with a terrific experience. His love of wildlife made it especially enjoyable for us.


"Relaxing and informative!"

December 24, 2018 - 

My guide Omar (spelling?) was great! Not only was he able to lead the tour with confidence, he also had a lot of knowledge to each of the stops we made and offered a lot of information anytime I asked a question. Throughout the ride, I discovered a lot of hidden gems within the city of Austin that aren't always 'Tourist Attractions' and that is essentially what I really wanted to experience going on this ride. The ride was wonderful, the city is beautiful and the general cycling culture here is very friendly. I would highly recommend this to anyone who's in ATX for the first time or just an old-timer like me who wanted to see the city through a cyclist's perspective.


"Bike tour review "

December 17, 2018 - 

Great tour. Gabriel was awesome!


"Awesome way to see Austin!"

November 10, 2018 - 

My wife and I were visiting Austin for the first time for a weekend getaway. We booked this tour based on reviews and I’m glad we did! A really great way to see Austin and a lot of fun! Cody was a pleasant and informative guide. Highly recommend!


"Enjoyable ride through Austin "

November 5, 2018 - 

Overall an enjoyable ride which allowed us to see the sights without a car! More road biking than expected, but we felt confident in our guide to keep us safe.


"Great"

October 28, 2018 - 

So much fun!!!


"Great way to see Austin is on a bike"

October 16, 2018 - 

This is our first bike tour and it was great. We were able to see so much of Austin on this bike tour and it was beautiful. The tour guide Santiago was great, very informative and had great energy.


"Very nice"

October 6, 2018 - 

The tour guides Gabriel and Athena were very informative and friendly. We stopped often and it was easy to take a breather. ( A bit hilly in places) The tour was very interesting and we learned quite a bit of trivia. Enjoyed it immensely and recommend it to anyone that can ride a bike.


"Wet"

September 30, 2018 - 

The tour still went on, even though it started pouring 10 mins into the tour! Our tour guide gave us the option of going back or to continue, 6/8 people continued and it was an adventure.. great tour


"Great time!!"

September 27, 2018 - 

My guide was very knowledgeable! Would recommend to anyone visiting Austin


"Awesome tour"

September 15, 2018 - 

Great bike tour. Steven, our guide, was fantastic. This tour is a great way to see the city.


"Great guided ride "

September 13, 2018 - 

Great overview of the city


"Exceĺlent tour! Really enjoyed it"

October 21, 2017 - 

Cody was our tour guide. Loved how relaxed and fun it was!


"Great way to enjoy Austin highlights and being outdoors"

October 19, 2017 - 

Felt like I was taking a trip through the city with some friends, really relaxed and fun, Austin is great!


"Great tour"

October 13, 2017 - 

The bike tour was a great way to see just about everything quickly as a first timer to Austin. Santiago and Max did a great job. I hadn't ridden a bike in 5 years and the tour wasn't an too difficult


"Great experience!"

October 12, 2017 - 

Everything about this tour was great! The guys in the shop fitted us with bikes quickly, offered water, etc. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and fun, and the tour itself was relaxed and professional. I highly recommend this tour for visitors to Austin!


"Thanks"

October 12, 2017 - 

I had a very nice tour of the city and learnt a lot about Austin. I had a one on one tour because I was the only person who signed up for that time slot (4pm). I was hesitant at first but Gabriel really made me feel at ease and we enjoyed a few laughs along the way.


"Great way to see the City! "

October 1, 2017 - 

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour...guides were super friendly and informative! Nice way to see the city, avoid the traffic and get some exercise as well! I always think riding a bike lets you see a place up close in a different way than in a car!


"Wonderful ride, wonderful guide!"

September 28, 2017 - 

The bike tour was perfect! We saw just about everything in Austin from local fairs to downtown high rises. Our guide, Steven was full of wonderful information and was an absolute delight to ride with. The service at the shop was great and everyone involved was so down to earth and helpful. Thank you, thank you!


"Great tour of Austin!"

September 23, 2017 - 

The tour was wonderful. Great way to see all the different neighborhoods and attractions!


"Great"

September 19, 2017 - 

Had a lot of fun biking around Austin and hearing a bit of history behind it. Beautiful scenery.


"Awesome!"

September 19, 2017 - 

I met the whole crew - Mark , Colby Stephen and one other guy - shoot forgot his name. Anyway, I was lucky to have a private tour by Stephen - he knew so much about Austin and the ease of the ride and conversation was bar none! If I was visiting Austin take a ride with these folks you will not be disappointed. They even drive me to my next destination- that what I call 5 star customer service!


"We got to see everything in one day!"

August 24, 2017 - 

Me and my friend were just here for a day, and with the bike tour we got to all interesting points and saw everything we wanted to see in just a few hours! The guides were great and told us a lot of stuff about the city. Would definetely do it again👍🏼


"Great way to explore"

June 26, 2017 - 

Bikes, guide and route: all very good. It's a pleasantly paced tour to see some of the highlights of Austin, and get a sense of the relaxed atmosphere in the city. Worth doing if you want to be active, and get a feel and some orientation for the city in a few hours.


"Amazing!"

June 17, 2017 - 

Stephen was an awesome tour guide! So much fun and I learned some interesting Austin facts too (even after living here for 4 years!) I don't bike much but I was able to do everything. Definitely recommend!


"great bike tour of AUstin"

June 4, 2017 - 

A great way to get an overview of Austin. Guides ( Cody and Steve) were caring, and attentive and very knowledgeable.


"Great experience"

May 27, 2017 - 

Our guides Cody and Stephen were knowledgeable and fun, and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing the sites along the tour. The bikes were in good shape. We were provided helmets, baskets on the bikes (if needed), and bottles of water, as well as a complimentary ride back to our hotel after the tour.


"Cody is amazing!!!"

May 6, 2017 - 

A must do if you are visiting Austin!!!


"Fun and easy"

April 17, 2017 - 

A tad light on the info aspect but a pretty ride with fun guides


"Excellent"

April 8, 2017 - 

The tour was very fun. Our guide was very friendly and it was a great ride. The entire process is well set up. They will pick you up before and drop you off after your tour if you need. I definitely recommend this company if you want a fun bike tour around Austin.


"Great bike tour"

April 6, 2017 - 

Had a very good time with Casey leading and providing history, recommendations. I felt well cared for as we rode and toured the lakefront, state house, and night spots. He gave me great suggestions for restaurants and things to do.


"Saturday morning cycle"

February 25, 2017 - 

Sasha was great, the tour left on time, heard lots of great Austin stories and history and facts. Could have gone another 2 hrs easily. - what about a ride through Uni of Texas?


"Very friendly and informative guide."

February 18, 2017 - 

Hit all the high points of the city, and I got a bit of a workout.


"Best way to see Austin"

February 10, 2017 - 

Some girlfriends and I went to Austin for a long weekend. This was the best thing we did while there. It took us to all of the major sites of the city. Plus our tour guide Daniel provided us with a lot of history about the city as well. I would highly recommend this tour to visitors. And I would suggest doing it at the beginning of your visit so you can get familiar with the city and see where you would like to go back to.


"A fantastic morning with an exceptional guide Sascha"

February 5, 2017 - 

Everything was perfect and everyone who worked there was lovely and helpful, particularly our guide Sascha. Went on a great bike ride that helped me get an excellent sense of Austin Exactly what I was hoping for - my expectations were exceeded! Thanks for a great morning Sascha and for all your wonderful suggestions of where to eat in Austin. Went to the taco place right after and it was just as good as you said it would be.


Book Now

Selected Date: 
Checking availability...
Loading spinner 42369f3fb5775b835bf899b0188de380ca5a0ca2d7b419f8e9577587faa391e2
Please Wait
Book with confidence
  • Real-time confirmation
  • Secure payment
  • Over 50,000 bookings processed